VRI TRANSFERS

Below is an overview of how to transfer a VRI assignment to another interpreter, and what the current and joining interpreter can expect.

Please note that the ability to transfer a VRI assignment is only available if your organization has enabled on-demand routing. Not all agencies have elected to offer on-demand services. If your agency works strictly on a pre-scheduled basis, this tutorial does not apply to you.

STEP ONE

To transfer a call to another interpreter, click on the Enable Transfer button. It will then turn red.

Then, you must click on the red Request Transfer button.

Once selected, it will indicate the system is searching for another interpreter. 

Note: If you click the Emergency button, it will send the call out to seek another interpreter and immediately disconnect the first interpreter. The Emergency button should only be used in cases of absolute necessity. 

Transferring an assignment is a two-step process to request a transfer to prevent accidental transfer requests. Once initiated, there is no way to stop a transfer.

STEP TWO

Once an interpreter has been found and joins the call, the joining interpreter can observe the call and indicate when they are ready to take over. While the client cannot see the joining interpreter until the transfer is complete, the current interpreter on the call and the joining interpreter can see one another.

**Below is what the joining interpreter view immediately upon joining.

**Below is what the current interpreter sees the moment the other interpreter joins.

STEP THREE

When the joining interpreter is ready to take over, they will click the Ready button.

The moment the joining interpreter hits Ready, they will see Waiting for Transfer.

The current interpreter on the call will see a note appear below the joining interpreter indicating that the joining interpreter is ready to take the call. Then, the current interpreter selects the Complete Transfer button when they feel appropriate.

STEP FOUR

When the current interpreter completes the transfer, they are taken to the following page.

The Main View shows the client and transfer interpreter, if applicable.

The Chat View allows for chatting internally and with the client.

When you click the Internal button, the chat is only visible to the transfer interpreter and VRI monitor.

When you click the Client button, the chat is visible to the client, the transfer interpreter, and the VRI Monitor.

The Self View allows the interpreter to see themselves.

The interpreter may click to enable or disable Privacy, which mutes and unmutes the video.

The interpreter may click to enable or disable Mute, which mutes and unmutes the audio.

Enabling transfer begins the process to search for another interpreter to take over the VRI request.

Note: The client will not see anything on their side when the Enable Transfer button is selected.

End Call allows the interpreter to end the conversation. 

Elapsed Time shows the duration of the conversation just below your self-view.

The requesting interpreter’s pay stops the moment the second interpreter connects to the VRI conversation.
Was this tutorial helpful?
We appreciate your feedback.
Yes
No
2019-05-13T10:44:19+00:00